Overview
Features
Download
Documentation
Community
Add-Ons & Services

visual studio 2012 express for windows desktop

Please post support and help requests here.

visual studio 2012 express for windows desktop

Postby wouter » 18 Oct 2012, 13:19

Hello,

Is it possible to compile and use poco with visual studio 2012 express for windows desktop? I'm running into some problems and before I waste too much time I want to know if I'm fighting a lost battle or not :)

Thank you
wouter

Re: visual studio 2012 express for windows desktop

Postby fbraem » 18 Oct 2012, 14:03

I have no experience with VS 2012, but it would help if you let us know what your problem is ...
Zumuta!, that's the way to do IT!
fbraem

Postby wouter » 18 Oct 2012, 14:17

I actually posted twice before I realised it had to be approved. Second time I skipped the error message because I wanted to know if anyone tried before.

There is no 'batch build' option in vs2012express so I just opened the Foundation solution in the IDE. It seemed to upgrade the project files ok (x64_vs100). But it cannot compile DLLVersion.rc with the error:
Error 2 error RC1015: cannot open include file 'afxres.h'.
I actually just commented that line and the build seemed to succeed but the test modules didn't.
(Error 4 error C2668: 'std::basic_string<_Elem,_Traits,_Alloc>::basic_string' : ambiguous call to overloaded function)

So before I went into the rabbit hole I wanted to know if it's been tried before and how much pain I can expect :)

Thanks for your help
wouter

Postby wouter » 19 Oct 2012, 14:02

Fwiw, commenting that #include line seemed to work. I've given up on the tests, I simply don't have the time. The examples for Poco::Net and SQLite seem to work. :)
wouter

Postby alex » 19 Oct 2012, 16:13