Overview
Features
Download
Documentation
Community
Add-Ons & Services

Call functions periodically from within a class

Tips and tricks for POCO C++ Libraries users.

Call functions periodically from within a class

Postby mrallon » 03 Oct 2011, 21:53

I'm a C++ beginner (using it for a few month now), so if there is a cleaner / nicer approach for this don't hesitate to post.
All the code below is public domain (just in case someone wants to use it).

Imagine the following situation:
- You have a class C which provides access to a data structure S
- There needs to be work done on S periodically (e.g. clean a queue, increment a counter, etc.)
- C needs to have access to S constantly while the program needs access to C
- C gets created in an abstract way (e.g. a Plugin Infrastructure) so you can't be sure if the above is true for every class
- The structure S is to complex and C is required to provide access functions for it. You can't simply hand it down to another thread to do the work for you

This happened to me more then once, and I found that Poco is lacking the functionality to deal with this kind of problem out of the box.
While working with boost I solved the problem by creating a thread during the construction of the class from the class itself, I tried the same with Poco but the farest I got was a successful compile and a segmentation fault at run-time.

The template below provides a way to create a thread of a member function of the current class and call it periodically (e.g. every few seconds), or even just once if you join it right after creation.
This is the template:
Code: Select all
#ifndef INNERTHREAD_HPP
#define INNERTHREAD_HPP

#include <Poco/Runnable.h>

template <class C> class InnerThread : public Poco::Runnable {
    private:
        /** pointer to the class */
        C* pointer;
        /** pointer to the member function */
        void (C::*fpt)();
        /** whether the thread should run or not */
        bool running;