Overview
Features
Download
Documentation
Community
Add-Ons & Services

POCO and Visual Studio 2013

Please post support and help requests here.

POCO and Visual Studio 2013

Postby zack » 10 Dec 2013, 00:49

I want to compile poco with VS 2013.
But this buildwin.bat doesn't support it, also not with my hacks.
Any hint what to change, in order to run it successfully?

And btw. why does poco not use a generic build system, like cmake or premark?
Maintaining all these Visual Studio projects must be a lot of work... just my 5 cent.
zack
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 00:41

Re: POCO and Visual Studio 2013

Postby guenter » 10 Dec 2013, 16:05

Project files for VS2013 are in the develop branch on GitHub.
They will also be included in the next release. And no, we don't maintain the VS project files by hand. We have tools for that.
guenter
 
Posts: 1153
Joined: 11 Jul 2006, 16:27
Location: Austria

Re: POCO and Visual Studio 2013

Postby zack » 15 Dec 2013, 12:04

I downloaded the development brunch,
but I still get this message:
Error: No Visual C++ environment found.
Please run this script from a Visual Studio Command Prompt
or run "%%VSnnCOMNTOOLS%%\vsvars32.bat" first.


There is also no option for VS_VERSION 120 in buildwin.
What do I have to do in order to compile poco with the new VS 2013?

Honestly, it would be better when poco would using a real build system,
so I can use the build environment I want to use.
zack
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 00:41

Re: POCO and Visual Studio 2013

Postby zack » 20 Dec 2013, 00:55

has nobody an idea how to compile it with VS 2013?
zack
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 00:41

Re: POCO and Visual Studio 2013

Postby dbarzo » 13 Jan 2014, 17:11

Hi,

me too I would like to know how to generate the VS2013 solution.
When I run cmake it give me the error: "message compiler not found: required to build"

So the full Windows SDK is a requirement?

Regards,
Daniele.
dbarzo
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 14 Jan 2013, 17:15
Location: Italy

Re: POCO and Visual Studio 2013

Postby zack » 20 Jan 2014, 21:02

where is a CMakeLists.txt?
I only found theses obsucre *.bat files.

For your problem, it seems to be that you have not initialized VS in a console.
Type this in the console:
call "%VS120COMNTOOLS%vsvars32.bat"
zack
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 10 Dec 2013, 00:41


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests