Page 2 of 2

Re: SSL sockets

Posted: 04 Feb 2010, 22:15
by thready
ok - getting further, now I've specified a certificate and key file in my configuration.properties file. The server looks like it's running now... COOL!

Re: SSL sockets

Posted: 05 Nov 2012, 11:03
by flomll
Hy, what have you done to fix the certificate problem. I would like to modifie the EchoServer sample to use with SecureServerSocket instead of ServerSocket. The problem is, that I can not found a way to set the certificate path or something...

Re: SSL sockets

Posted: 05 Nov 2012, 13:10
by thready
I'm sorry I can't remember and that code is gone. All I can say is try to find examples that use the "configuration.properties" file.. Good luck!

Re: SSL sockets

Posted: 07 Nov 2012, 20:41
by Royce
To my knowledge you must have a key. The key is integral to the encryption process.

This is how you create a self-signed key:

Code: Select all

openssl req -x509 -nodes -days 365 -newkey rsa:1024 -keyout mycert.pem -out mycert.pem

Verification must be set to None for the key to pass muster.

I got that from here: http://www.madboa.com/geek/openssl/#cert-self

Re: SSL sockets

Posted: 07 Nov 2012, 20:53
by thready
That's correct - and in your code- you need to specify which key to load... I remember now.. :) The sample should load a key already?

Re: SSL sockets

Posted: 08 Mar 2013, 09:24
by flomll
thready wrote:I'm sorry I can't remember and that code is gone. All I can say is try to find examples that use the "configuration.properties" file.. Good luck!

I take a look at the HTTPS Server sample and now it runs perferct. :D